Basketball Therapy

Every Monday and Friday I play basketball with a group of ladies.  It is an invite only game and it is with women that don’t function in any other place in my life except for on this court.  It is a bit of a sanctuary for me.  There is no expectations of me save for the desire to see me put the ball in the hoop.  We come from different places and spaces, some have grown children, no children or school aged children.  Some of us work, others don’t. Some have partners, some don’t.

Each week we lace up while chatting about how life is going. One woman’s husband is battling cancer, so we give money or meals to support them during this time. We hear about vacations, sick kids, job stress…Then we battle it out on the court.  There is trash talk and high fives, bruises and blood and laughter.  Lots of laughter.

Today after the game a friend asked why I wasn’t myself. She had been gently asking for a couple of weeks and finally I told her.  Before I knew it there was the whole team gathered around listening.  There were no platitudes, no easy answers.  Just a general acknowledgement that life sucked right now.  There were shoulder bumps and back pats and the question, See you Friday?

It was just what I needed, some basketball therapy

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Judy says:

    You write so well

  2. Tammy says:

    Totally get it!

Leave a Reply

