The great cell phone debate.

You know how your kid comes home and says, ‘But MOM, everybody has one…’ in that super whiny voice and your first reaction is FOR THE LOVE OF GOD!  NO THEY DON’T!!!!!

And then you get that sick feeling like, oh shit….yes they do?

Yeah, that happened to us this week.

We live in a very affluent little town. About 75% of the time it doesn’t bother me.  It is actually a nice little break and it is an amazing place to have the girls live and go to school.  However, there are some things that are just unavoidable when it comes to the socioeconomic divide between our family and a lot of the other families.  And sometimes it comes in the form of material goods.

Hence the cell phone conversation. At first, when the conversation came up I just laughed.  A 10 year old with a cell phone?  I don’t think so.  Then I started watching the kids come out of school, 90% had phones in hand.  Then in the church parlor (cause we go to a church with a parlor), I got caught in a conversation with 2 parents of friends of K’s who were gushing about the fact that they were saving $20 per month by adding another phone to the bill.  Which meant their 5th graders had phones. Awesome. And of course K is listening with wide open ears, sucking in all the words so that she can spew them back to me in our ‘discussion’ at home.

Am I just strange for not wanting her to have a phone?  She has an Ipad at home, she doesn’t go off on her own quite yet for me to need to track her down.  And quite frankly, I don’t want her to get caught up in any sort of craziness that seems to come with being online or on a phone.  She is 10.  She is still my baby girl.

We’ve told her that we would revisit the issue in middle school, which is grade 6 here. And we compromised by saying that she could have an Instagram account on her Ipad, which would be private and I would be on that account so that I can see what she is posting.

I never thought I’d say it, but I miss the sleepless nights and diapers stage. I swear it was easier than navigating preteen girl drama.

Thankfully, this video of Louis CK came out right about the time we were going through all this:

5 Comments Add yours

  1. suz says:

    that was the best video to see today. or ever.

      1. suz says:

        yes. so good. it really made me laugh. which is a gift. 🙂

  2. Sharon says:

    Loved it! Thanks so much for sharing.

Leave a Reply

