Conflict.

Coffee3

 

I just pressed the submit button for an assignment that required a 12 page paper on conflict. Specifically a conflict you have dealt with as a leader, and to detail it out in excruciating detail of how you did or did not handle it well.

These are the times I curse the fact that I am an Introverted, Intuitive, Feeler on that Myers Briggs spectrum.  Because what an assignment like that means for someone like me goes sort of like this:

Remember that painful situation? The one that even just by remembering makes you  somewhat nauseous?  And all the hours you put into writing this paper is like ripping a scab off a wound over and over again???  Fun.

I really wish I was I more like Jeff in these times. He is ‘water off a duck’s back’ kind of guy.  A guy that sees conflict like the situation I described as ‘fully the other person’s issue’.  Not me. I just finished the assignment and promptly took 2 headache pills and took a hot shower to relax and shake it off.

I don’t mind conflict, and I don’t shy away from it usually, but I’m at the age where I feel like we can or should be able to handle things in a grown up sort of way. Where we disagree but don’t become vicious. And we don’t question the integrity of someone’s faith or, you know, call them the Whore of Babylon.

It is so funny to me when the girls tell me that they can’t wait to be the boss of someone. I want to tell them that it ain’t all it is cracked up to be. Being a leader means a lot of shit can be thrown your way. Tough decisions, hard conversations.

But, sometimes being the boss means you can work from home in your pajamas, drinking good coffee and spending some time in your garden on your lunch break.

I guess it all evens out in the end.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. GM says:

    Wait, did *you* call someone the whore of Babylon? Because that would be amazing. However, if someone called you the whore of Babylon that would just be hilariously inaccurate.

    1. I was called it, although now I use it all the time…in my head, along with cold assed honky.

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. John McWilliam says:

    are you still working on Carey stuff? Nice conclusion by the way !!

Leave a Reply

