12:33 am.

Almost every night for the last two weeks, I have woken up and seen 12:33 am on my clock. No matter what time I go to bed, I sleep deep and solid until 12:33, and then I spend the rest of the night tossing and turning until I eventually give up and get out of bed sometime between 4:30 – 6 am.

It is getting to the point where I am tempted to go to bed at 7pm, just to get 5 hours of sleep.

The worst part is that I know this is a trigger/symptom for me. And the lack of sleep bleeds into all aspects of my life.

So this needs to be an interactive post, OK? Give me your sleep ideas, routines, aids. I can’t take Melatonin and I’d prefer to stay of prescription drugs….Go.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Oh Nadia! Wish I had some great answer for you! Sleep deprivation is NOT a fun thing! I hate when you are so completely exhausted, but your brain won’t let you sleep. 😦 We will certainly be praying for you on this side of the continent, my friend!

    1. Thanks Niki. Can’t wait to see you in a couple of weeks!

  2. anita says:

    that was me for sooo long…i thought it was mostly hormone related. but after a regular centering prayer practice, I am finding that i sleep more soundly now than ever even as i approach menopause and hormones are crazier than ever. stillness and silence with my divine therapist has worked out so many of my “issues’ that needed to rise to the surface and be surrendered 😉 I pray you sleep more soundly tonight

  3. Sharon says:

    I recently finished reading a book called “Power Sleep: The Revolutionary Program That Prepares Your Mind for Peak Performance” by Dr. James B. Maas. My Neurosurgeon recommended it to me and said amongst all the various books out there, it’s the best one he’s seen on sleep. It has some interesting information in it (ie how astronauts sleep in space), but also tells you the same things to do that you hear everywhere to help ensure good sleep. For instance, going to bed and waking up at the same time, regardless of if it’s a weekday or weekend. Making sure your room is dark, cool and quiet. Not napping if it interferes with your nighttime sleep. I was able to find the book at my library, so you may be able to do so as well. I have always been a terrible sleeper. For me, going to bed and waking up at the same time has helped tremendously (and so has little kiddos not waking me in the night!) When I have a hard time getting back to sleep, I usually pray for anyone/everything I can think of and/or do something to occupy my mind. For example, I’ll go through the alphabet and think of a song or movie title for each letter. Oh, I’ve heard it’s best not to have a clock you can look at to see what time it is when you wake up in the night.

    1. Thanks Sharon, I’ll try to find that book…

  4. Sharon says:

    One more thing. For years, I went to bed early, in hopes of getting enough sleep despite being up in the night. The book I mentioned says that is a common mistake and that it doesn’t work. It’s better to go to sleep at a reasonable hour that allows you to get as much sleep as you need consecutively.

Leave a Reply

