Growing up.

Anne lamottShame. Guilt. Worry. Fear.

I feel as though some of these things have haunted me most of my life. In reality, I think a lot of women struggle with some of these at some point of their life. I  know I have made decisions in my life to avoid confrontations, or to please others before myself.

But now I am a mother to 2 beautiful girls. And as the girls are getting older, they are beginning to encounter a culture that seeks to define them in ways that put them in a box instead of letting them define themselves. We are having good conversations, but painful conversations. They are already being hurt by casual insults about their bodies, their intellect, their wealth (or lack thereof) and their capabilities.

Since I can’t go and beat down everyone that hurts the girls, I am acutely aware of the responsibility that Jeff and I have to pour love and support into the girls. To teach them that they can do anything they put their minds too, that God created them uniquely and beautifully. And to know that whatever path they take in life, we will be there with them.

Girls Can’t???

One Comment Add yours

  1. firstpresbynj says:

    I have been called an Annie Lamott Christian – and received it as a compliment! You and Jeff set an awesome example and your 2 beauties are blessed to have you as their parents.

Leave a Reply

