Playing in the garden?

BnsnhGPCcAED8sn.jpg largeThere are days where sitting at my computer is detrimental to me actually getting any work done. Lucky for me, the gardens at Urban are a 2 minute walk that serves as a mental and physical break for me. However, I don’t just pop over once in a while for 5 minutes. After a full day’s work, I often spend a hour or two weeding, seeding, pulling hose to water, moving dirt, checking the compost bins and repairing the damage that others do to the space. As days get hotter, the work gets harder.

Don’t get me wrong. I love it. I hope to grow 250 pounds of food this year.

But, I noticed that I’m getting irked by people asking me if I was ‘playing’ in the garden today. I understand what they mean (I think), most folks know that I love being there. I am an unabashed garden nerd. However, it is not as though I’m just goofing around out there and food is magically appearing for everyone. Some days I don’t want to spend 2 hours hand watering everything. I don’t want to come and see that neighbors are using the garden beds as litter boxes for their dogs, or to pick up the copious amount of trash that ends up there. I don’t want to be on my knees painstakingly pulling weeds so that fragile seedlings can survive. And the reality is that as much as I would love for this to be my full time job at Urban, it is not.

The good news is that it is raining today. And tomorrow a work group is coming to do a massive project for me in the garden. And best of all, I will probably have gotten over myself and be happily ‘playing’ in the garden.

Leave a Reply

