Pesto pot

Processed with VSCOcam with m3 presetWhen folks ask me my secret for growing food, I laugh. Then I tell them that my strategy is Dirt+Seed+Water = Food.

The reality is no matter how garden nerdy I am, there is always an element of just faking my way through it. This pot is a perfect example of that. I threw in different basil seeds and then promptly forgot what I did. So when the leaves started appearing, I was pretty happy to see that I had mixed purple and green basil together because I think it will look amazing when full grown.  Plus purple pesto? That just seems awesome.

I recently spoke on a parable on growing found in Mark 4.   I didn’t do a great job at the time, but what I was trying to convey was that there is mystery in the process. Our job is to be present in that process and trust that God is working in the world. I feel that way about growing food a lot. There is a mystery in the actual germination, growing and eventual harvest. I am not a passive bystander in this process, I’m watering, weeding and caring for the soil. But God is making the seed grow and be fruitful.

This parable has been exceptionally helpful in a season where I’m not really sure what or how I’m supposed to be doing ministry. However, I’m tending the garden I have and am trusting the mystery.

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Sabrina says:

    I just love your blog, Nadia. So insightful & honest & real & relevant, not to mention well-written. I read it everytime you send it. Just wanted to thank you for opening your soul & to encourage you in this mysterious journey. Your basil is beautiful, btw! Thank you!

    1. Thanks Sabrina. Appreciate the encouragement!

Leave a Reply

